A new book, slowly underway

I have been working now for several years – and will be working for a couple more – on a new book. It is an anthology. This is the first anthology project I have done. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise, producing an anthology is a monumental task! It will include selections from across the history of the Church and from every major Christian tradition (90 entries). Without my two very talented and wise co-editors, Ashley Cocksworth and Anna Silvas, I can hardly imagine finishing! And even if I could, the book is far better because of their partnership; I increasingly realize this as I work with them. Collaboration is a beautiful thing!

The topic of the collection is the Christian life. Readers will encounter how the Christian life has been represented, preached and sung about, reflected on, and refracted from Christians in every era and from every Christian tradition. I can say without hesitation, producing this book is fascinating and invigorating work! I feel like a student all over again, pouring over primary sources as I immerse myself in the Christian tradition.

My last two books inspired this project. The book I edited with Kyle Strobel, Sanctified by Grace, confirmed the importance of re-invigorating theological attention onto the doctrine of the Christian life. And doing so through an anthology was inspired by my book with David Buschart, Theology as Retrieval. You might say that this new book is the fruit of my previous two. I am doing the work of theological retrieval by producing an anthology that inspires, fuels, and directs teaching, preaching, and theological reflection on the Christian life for the sake of the Church.

Huntington University (where I teach) produced a short video that gives a quick snapshot of the book as it is taking shape. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “A new book, slowly underway

    • Me too! Just recently I received a large amount of content from one of my co-editors, and I was so encouraged. The content in this book is going to be great because of my fantastic collaborators!

  1. Pingback: Cyril of Alexandria on the Christian life – Theology Forum

  2. Pingback: Cyril of Alexandria on the Christian life – Theology Forum

Leave a Reply

